Golden Globe Winners & Nominees - 2014


Seeing Stars: Award Shows


(The names of the winners are in bold, underlined type.)

The Golden Globe Awards were presented on Sunday, January 12, 2014.

(Click on the blue links to buy the disc, book, or other related products.)


Picture, Drama:

“Captain Phillips”



12 Years a Slave” 


Motion picture, musical or comedy:

American Hustle”  winner


“Inside Llewyn Davis”


“The Wolf of Wall Street”.

Actress, Drama:

Cate Blanchett, “Blue Jasmine”  winner

Sandra Bullock, “Gravity”

Judi Dench, “Philomena”

Emma Thompson, “Saving Mr. Banks”

Kate Winslet, “Labor Day”.

Actor, Drama:

Chiwetel Ejiofor, “12 Years a Slave”

Idris Elba, “Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom”

Tom Hanks, “Captain Phillips”

Matthew McConaughey, “Dallas Buyers Club  winner

Robert Redford, “All Is Lost”.

Actress in a motion picture, musical or comedy:

Amy Adams, “American Hustle”  winner

Julie Delpy, “Before Midnight”

Greta Gerwig, “Frances Ha”

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Enough Said”

Meryl Streep, “August: Osage County”.

Actor in a motion picture, musical or comedy:

Christian Bale, “American Hustle”

Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”

Leonardo DiCaprio, “The Wolf of Wall Street”   winner

Oscar Isaac, “Inside Llewyn Davis”

Joaquin Phoenix, “Her”.

Animated Film:

“The Croods”

“Despicable Me 2”

Frozen”.  winner

Foreign Language Film:

“Blue is the Warmest Color“

The Great Beauty“  winner

“The Hunt“

“The Past“

“The Wind Rises“.

Supporting Actress:

Sally Hawkins, “Blue Jasmine”

Jennifer Lawrence, “American Hustle”  winner

Lupita Nyong’o, “12 Years a Slave”

Julia Roberts, “August: Osage County:

June Squibb, “Nebraska”.

Supporting Actor:

Barkhad Abdi, “Captain Phillips”

Daniel Brühl, “Rush”

Bradley Cooper, “American Hustle”

Michael Fassbender, “12 Years a Slave”

Jared Leto, “Dallas Buyers Clubwinner


Alfonso Cuarón, “Gravity”  winner

Paul Greengrass, “Captain Phillips”

Steve McQueen, “12 Years A Slave”

Alexander Payne, “Nebraska”

David O. Russell, “American Hustle”.


Spike Jonze, “Her”  winner

Bob Nelson, “Nebraska”

Jeff Pope and Steve Coogan, “Philomena”

John Ridley, “12 Years A Slave”

Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, “American Hustle”.

Original Score:

All Is Lost”  winner

“Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”


“The Book Thief”

“12 Years A Slave”.

Original Song:

“Atlas,” Coldplay (“The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”)

“Let It Go,” Idina Menzel (“Frozen”)

Ordinary Love,” U2 (“Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”)  winner

“Please Mr. Kennedy,” Oscar Isaac, Justin Timberlake and Adam Driver (“Inside Llewyn Davis”)

“Sweeter Than Fiction,” Taylor Swift (“One Chance”).



Drama Series:

Breaking Bad”  winner

“Downton Abbey”

“The Good Wife”

“House of Cards”

“Masters of Sex”.

Actress, Drama:

Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife”

Tatiana Maslany, “Orphan Black”

Taylor Schilling, “Orange Is the New Black”

Kerry Washington, “Scandal”

Robin Wright, “House of Cards”.  winner

Actor, Drama:

Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad”  winner

Liev Schreiber, “Ray Donovan“

Michael Sheen, “Masters of Sex”

Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards”

James Spader, “The Blacklist”.

Musical or Comedy Series:

“The Big Bang Theory”

Brooklyn Nine-Nine”  winner


“Modern Family”

“Parks and Recreation”.

Actress, Musical or Comedy Series:

Zooey Deschanel, “New Girl”

Lena Dunham, “Girls”

Edie Falco, “Nurse Jackie”

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, “Veep”

Amy Poehler, “Parks and Recreation

Actor, Musical or Comedy Series:

Jason Bateman, “Arrested Development”

Don Cheadle, “House of Lies”

Michael J. Fox, “The Michael J. Fox Show”

Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory”

Andy Samberg, “Brooklyn Nine-Nine”. winner

Miniseries or Movie Made for Television:

“American Horror Story: Coven”

Behind the Candelabra”  winner

“Dancing on the Edge”

“Top of the Lake”

“The White Queen”.

Actress, Miniseries or Movie Made for Television:

Helena Bonham Carter, “Burton and Taylor”

Rebecca Ferguson, “White Queen”

Jessica Lang, “American Horror Story: Coven”

Helen Mirren, “Phil Spector”

Elisabeth Moss, “Top of the Lake”.  winner

Actor, Miniseries or Movie Made for Television:

Matt Damon, “Behind the Candelabra”

Michael Douglas, “Behind the Candelabra”  winner

Chiwetel Ejiofor, “Dancing on the Edge”

Idris Elba, “Luther”

Al Pacino, “Phil Spector”.

Supporting Actress, Series, Miniseries or Movie Made for Television:

Jacqueline Bisset, “Dancing On the Edge”  winner

Janet McTeer, “White Queen”

Hayden Penettiere, “Nashville”

Monica Potter, “Parenthood”

Sofia Vergara, “Modern Family”.

Supporting Actor, Series, Miniseries or Movie Made for Television:

Rob Lowe, “Behind the Candelabra”

Josh Charles, “The Good Wife”

Aaron Paul, “Breaking Bad”

Corey Stoll, “House of Cards”

Jon Voight, “Ray Donovan”.  winner

Cecil B. DeMille Award (for career achievement): Woody Allen. winner


Click Here to Return to the Main Menu

Copyright ©
All Rights Reserved

This webpage is not associated with any business described in the article above, and does not constitute an
endorsement of this or any other business. The photos of celebrities on this page also do not constitute
endorsements by them of any kind, and are used by the author solely to illustrate this online article.
(Click here to read other disclaimers)